#1 (permalink)  
Old 08-21-2008, 03:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 29
Default Google adwords help needed badly

Hi everyone,

I setup several google adwords campaigns for individual keywords going to my blog page yesterday. I checked them several times yesterday and there was no impressions, I checked today and found the same. I went to the diagnostic tool in adwords and checked one of the keywords. Here is what I got:

"Your site's landing page appears to contain malicious software (malware) or code intended to install malware.

What does this mean?
You may receive this message if your site's landing page appears to contain malicious software (malware) or code intended to install malware.

What can I do?
Remove any malware on your site's landing page. Learn more."

Since this is a blog with nothing extra except the sales offer what could be causing the appearance of malware?

Please feel free to private message me if you have any suggestions.

Your help is appreciated,
Sim
__________________
Finding your Soul Purpose is the most important thing you can do to have a joyous and abundant life. friendfeed
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-21-2008, 04:01 PM
doublehead's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 623
Default

Hi Sim,

I'd like you to check something out . . .

Load in your url to your browser and watch the bottom bar where it tells you "transferring data from . . ."

If you see anything that indicates its loading from an outside source, or you see a series of numbers like 206.055.123 or any numbers, then your site's been hacked and you need to find the files they've added to your server and remove them.

This happened to me last month. I wrote about it with the solution here: Google Slapped Me Happy | from the desk of . . . Ken Nadreau
__________________
Ken
Everything is Possible!

30DC veteran: 2007, 2008
FriendFeed: http://friendfeed.com/doublehead
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-22-2008, 03:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 29
Default

Thanks for the help Ken,

Since I read your reply this morning I have been looking over my blogs. I have 4 that are showing one or both of these sites in the loading bar. This site "s7.addthis.com is flashing on all of them when they load. This site "i1, i2 or i7.ytimg.com is staying on the loading bar saying read and the site name on three of them.

I have a pre-sales page on one of the sites that also seems to be infected and a squeeze page on my oldest site that doesn't show anything. I wrote the pre-sales page using NVU and have copied it and compared it to the original without finding any hidden code. The only difference is the google analytics code I added after putting up the page.

I have searched and search and found nothing on any of the blogs. I installed another blog over one and it didn't help. Unless you have a better idea I plan to delete all my blogs and then install new ones.

I have saved the post on all of them in a text file with the only html code the you tube movies I have on a few of the post.

I plan to start deleting and reinstalling them all tomorrow. Any advise you can give that will make the work more likely to be effective is appreciated.

Thanks,
Sim
__________________
Finding your Soul Purpose is the most important thing you can do to have a joyous and abundant life. friendfeed
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-22-2008, 03:36 AM
calison's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sydney Aust./ Los Angeles USA
Posts: 444
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doublehead View Post

If you see anything that indicates its loading from an outside source, or you see a series of numbers like 206.055.123 or any numbers, then your site's been hacked and you need to find the files they've added to your server and remove them.

This happened to me last month. I wrote about it with the solution here: Google Slapped Me Happy | from the desk of . . . Ken Nadreau

Ummm sorry ??????

The blog loads images from other servers and those server addresses are what show up on the status bar. It in no way means your blog has been hacked. It CAN but in 99.9% of cases it DOESN'T

The loading status merely shows where files are being loaded from, during the page load process.

Sure if its loading malicious code from a hackers server, then , that will also show also but almost every blog loads files from other servers and the load process in NO WAY indicates either a problem or if the site has been hacked

The two sites you mentioned during the load process are TOTALLY benign and dont relate to the problem

The server named ytimg.com stands for YouTubeIMaGe Server. Its what is used to serve up the youtube thumbnails if you wish to put video on your site. Google has NO objection to a server that it in fact owns !

The addthis.com domain is where your socializing (addthis) plugin gets it image from for display in your blog to allow people to digg/stumble/prop etc your post.Googs doesnt mind this server being called into action as it is called on almost every blog in the world (well almost)
__________________
Steve

----------------------------------------------------
Just as with cars, licenses for software shouldn't be given out to people who can't drive.

Last edited by calison; 08-22-2008 at 04:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-22-2008, 03:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 29
Default

With that being the case what is causing google to say my site appears to have malware on it? I am totally stumped. How do I proceed with the adwords campaign?

Thanks,
Sim
__________________
Finding your Soul Purpose is the most important thing you can do to have a joyous and abundant life. friendfeed
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-22-2008, 04:04 AM
Caro's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,234
Default

Hi Sim,

A couple of ideas.

One is to contact Adwords support - and ask them to look into it for you.

Or call them on: 1 8662 Google - they are in PST

They are best to help you that end.

I'd also recommend that you contact WPD Suppport - WordPressDirect.com

As they can take a look at your blog for you to ensure there is nothing untoward running on it.

I understand that you want assistance here, and it can be very useful to trouble shoot issues.

I think in this instance they are your best avenues.

And also - there is no need to panic Adwords is not going anywhere - and the PPC method is secondary to what you've been doing. It should only be ventured into after you've done everything else.

And based on you being prepared to spend the money.

It is not a 'make or break' option. And it is not an 'instead of' option.

Caro
__________________
Live, Love & Laugh!

http://www.twitter.com/CaroMcC

30DC: 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT. The time now is 05:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0